Skip to content
December 20, 2010 / Neurotypical Me.

Oh!! I get it now!

I feel quite relieved now. All my life I have struggled with Abstract Expressionism. Then I saw Ad Reinhardt and it all made sense. The best thing was that there were these people around us saying; Can you see the red and purple lines? And the cross? Marcel and I looked at each other; nup.

Can you see it?

I think they were on the wrong page of the catalog(ue) because if you turned to the right there was another huge Reinhardt. You could actually see the lines and the cross in that one. Think about Rothko. I  saw his early work and I have to agree with Mali on this, I loved his ‘doodles’ too, so to speak.

There was a wall of Diane Arbus – why do I feel that a family snap of ours would be at home on that wall?

Anyway, I am happy. I found paisley Christmas wrapping paper on the way home 🙂 We also found a market on the edge of Central Park near Columbus and bought some cool stuff from the Tibetan store.

I will now end with a confession. Life here is not all beer and skittles (whatever the hell that means?). We have got ourselves a New York cough that would make Dostoyevsky proud. Will got it first and kindly passed it on to me. RJ is nurturing his and Marz thinks that he isn’t going to get it. I will start taking bets next blog.

Apologies to RJ who will get a photo in the next blog when he looks and feels better.

Apologies also to the’ person who asked the ‘Simpsons’ question: toilet flushes anti-clockwise in NYC.

The Lovers in Love (get it?)

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ronni / Dec 20 2010 10:47 pm

    Lovers in LOVE I love it 🙂

  2. Rosalie / Dec 21 2010 6:29 am

    We’ll I looked at that photo really carefully and even zoomed in on it and you are not quite in LOVE. How about you go back there again and curl up in the O, or lie down in the E, one on top and the other on the bottom! You can both stand up in the L, or squeeze in the V. Now that would be in LOVE!

    • traveldogue / Dec 21 2010 4:13 pm

      Very cheeky guys! We will have to do that. Love Lisa

  3. traveldogue / Dec 21 2010 4:20 pm

    Have been housecleaning for days in prep for my sister’s visit. All done and time for fun. Am reading the blog updates now and laughing my head off! Am I supposed to reply? Oh dear I am just so not ‘e-literate’ – I think that is a new word! Quote me on the blog!!
    Love Trish

  4. Trish / Dec 21 2010 10:31 pm

    Ooh now I get it!

Leave a Reply

